I Just Read The Hyperbole And A Half Book

hyperbole

I’m pretty sure most of you are pretty familiar with Allie Brosh’s blog of the same title. If you aren’t, go ahead and click the link and read it, as it is fucking hilarious and everybody should read it.

So, I got the book for Christmas this year from my lovely older sister and figured I’d tell everybody what I thought of it. In short, I loved it.

A large chunk of the book is made up of posts from the blog, with the older posts having updated artwork to better match Brosh’s current style. Of course, there’s also quite a lot that can’t be found on the blog and was made especially for the book. I particularly enjoyed the first story in the book where she talks about a letter that she had written to her future self when she was 10 years old. My favorite of the new stories, though, is probably the one entitled “The Helper Dog Is An Asshole,” if only for the following line:

“The shelter worker said, ‘This one hates everything and she doesn’t know anything,  and I hope you aren’t planning on taking her outside ever because she’s more like a bear than a dog, really, and unfortunately, she can scale a seven-foot tall fence like the fucking Spider-Man.’

The story about how Brosh and her younger sister used a toy parrot they had received to torment their parents is also god damn hilarious, and totally sounds like something I would have done as a child. Actually, come to think of it, I’m pretty sure that it may actually be something I had done as a child, at least the “annoying parents with toy that makes noise” part.

I’m a little disappointed that a couple of my favorite posts, namely The Alot Is Better Than You At Everything and The Year Kenny Loggins Ruined Christmas are not included, but this isn’t really too much of an issue because hey, I can go to the blog and read them anytime that I want. It does include others that I do really enjoy, like This Is Why I’ll Never Be An Adult, with updated artwork, so I consider that to be a fair trade.

I would very highly recommend picking this book up. While it’s true that a lot of what it contains can be read on the blog for free, there’s still quite a bit of material that can’t be found on the blog that you would be missing out on. And that would really suck. 

Leave a Reply

