Review: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls

FUCK YEAH LETS REAP SOME SOULS

I think that may be one too many colons in the title of this post, but I’m not really sure how to remedy that. Anyway, I was going to write this post much earlier, but I am a terrible procrastinator. Then my regular computer died. Thankfully, I have a laptop that’s only slightly less awesome than my desktop at playing games, so that isn’t as awful as it could have been. Anyway, enough excuses. On to the review!

So, I didn’t really get into the Diablo series until Diablo III came out. I had played a little bit of its predecessor, but didn’t really get into it at the time. Then, when the Mists of Pandaria expansion for WoW came out, Blizzard was offering a deal: lock in your subscription for a year, and get a bunch of goodies. One of them was a free digital copy of Diablo III. I wasn’t planning on cancelling my WoW subscription anytime soon, and I was like “woo! Free game!”, so naturally I signed up for it.

Needless to say, I fucking loved it. So when I heard that there was an expansion coming out, I preordered the collector’s edition as fast as I could.

Sorry for the picture quality; I took this with my phone.

That’s the game itself, a making of DVD, a copy of the soundtrack, a full-size art book, a mousepad, and the big-ass box it all came in. Blizzard does not fuck around with their collector’s editions.

The expansion, as pretty much all expansions do, adds a number of new features to the game, the most notable being the addition of a fifth act. In this act, Malthael (previously the Archangel of Wisdom, now the Angel of Death), steals the Black Soulstone containing the souls of the seven Great Evils for his own nefarious purposes. Basically, he has come to the conclusion that the best way to end the Great Conflict between heaven and hell is to kill all humans (as humans are basically what happen when an angel and a demon love each other very much in Diablo-verse). So, of course, the new goal for the heroes is to stop him. Act V also adds quests related to your followers and artisans, which adds some more depth to those characters.

The next feature is the Crusader class. I have been playing it, and it is a great deal of fun. Like the other classes, they do come with their own special kind of weapons and armor: flails and a special type of shield, so you can go ahead and crusade things directly in the face. Another feature that I find pretty god damned awesome is that they have a passive ability that allows them to wield two-handed weapons with one hand. So my crusader currently has a flail that’s about the same size she is in one hand and a shield in the other.

They also removed the gold and real money auction houses. This may be a turn-off to some people who may have liked those features, but as I personally never really used them, they mostly just seemed pointless to me. Also, I feel that it took away from a rather major point of the game, which is looting (Blizzard also cites this as a reason for closing the auction houses).

Speaking of loot, I have also noticed an increase in the drop rate of rare and legendary gear as well as gear that is actually useful to whatever class you’re playing, which again, may turn some people off if they’re looking for more of a challenge. Personally, I’m all for getting more useful stuff for my character.

UPDATE (I can’t believe I forgot to mention this): After you beat the game there’s also a new mode you can play in”

So, all in all, Diablo III: Reaper of Souls is a worthy addition. If you have Diablo III and have not yet purchased it, I recommend  you do so as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

