Thoughts on Silent Hills

So, last week it was announced that Konami will be releasing a new Silent Hill game (for which you can see the trailer above). Seeing as how I am a GIGANTIC Silent Hill fan, I have thoughts about this.

At the moment I have kind of mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, new Silent Hill game! On the other hand, the newer Silent Hill games don’t have a very good track record (Origins and Homecoming were kind of meh, I ended up liking the concept behind Shattered Memories more than the actual execution, Downpour is actually pretty good, and I haven’t played Book of Memories but the general consensus that I’ve heard it that it is an abomination unto the Lord). So this is something that I’ll just have to wait and see on.

A point in the game’s favor so far, though, is the people that are involved in it: Hideo Kojima, Guillermo del Toro, and Norman Reedus. Now, I like Reedus in The Walking Dead and am pretty neutral on Kojima’s involvement (not really a Metal Gear Solid fan), but I have high hopes for del Toro. For those of you who are not familiar with his work, Guillermo del Toro is the guy who designed this fucker:

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Yeah, he looks like he’d be right at home in Silent Hill. Seriously though, Pan’s Labyrinth is fucking amazing and this game had best be a godddamned masterpiece. Don’t let us down, Guillermo.

There was a demo released on the PSN network for the game that is just a little over an hour long. Unfortunately, as I do not own a PS4, I am unable to play it myself, but I did watch some of the game play and it is fucking unnerving:

Of course, it can be hard to judge a game based on its demo, so we’ll just have to wait and see if it lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

