The Trailer Park: Hardcore Henry

Welcome to The Trailer Park, wherein I discuss the merits and pitfalls of film trailers that I’ve seen recently. I’m hoping for this to become a regular feature of the blog, so enjoy!

First up: Hardcore Henry.

I came across this trailer while I was browsing YouTube. It was shown before the video I was actually planning on watching. Now, I normally click the skip ad button as soon as it comes up, but I didn’t do that this time. Something about the trailer had caught my interest.

The whole thing was shot from a first person perspective. Which I’d never really seen before in a movie; plenty of video games to be sure, but no movies.

Upon doing little bit of research, I found that this is not just something they did for the trailer: the whole movie is from a first person perspective. It centers around a man named Henry, who is saved from death by his wife, but at the cost of his memory. When his wife is kidnapped by a brutal warlord, he must infiltrate his lair to get him back.

Directed and written by Ilya Naishuller, the film actually premiered at the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival under the name Hardcore. It’s set to get a theatrical release on April 8 of this year.

From the trailer, the film actually looks like it would be quite interesting to see in a theater, maybe even more so in an Imax. The first person angle may draw quite a few in (especially the gamer crowd), though I can see how some may dismiss it as a gimmick, or how it may make some people feel ill. Fortunately, I am not particularly prone to motion sickness (I can read in a car just fine) so, who knows? You may be seeing a review of the full film on this blog in April.

Leave a Reply

