It’s Official! Idris Elba’s In The Dark Tower

dark tower book cover

Remember how last November I wrote a post about how Idris Elba was being proposed to play the lead in an adaptation of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower?

Yeah, it looks like it’s going to happen.

Idris Elba is going to play Roland Deschain, the last gunslinger of a land called Gilead which had fallen quite some time before the beginning of the story. Matthew McConaughey has also been cast as Roland’s nemesis, the man in black.

I am so fucking excited about this. The Dark Tower is probably my second favorite book series (after Terry Pratchett’s Discworld). I have a tattoo that’s inspired by these books. And I like Idris Elba as an actor and, as I’ve said before, I think that he would be a good fit for the role.

I am, however, a little disappointed that it’s going to be starting in the middle of the story, rather than at the beginning. But still, this is exciting news for a production that has been a long time in the making.

Of course, Roland being played by a black actor may piss some people off, because people of color in any role seems to elicit that kind of reaction among, well, racists. But I’m behind anything that pisses off racists, so I have no problem with that.

Did I mention I’m excited about this?

Leave a Reply

