Movies, The Trailer Park

The Trailer Park: Ghostbusters (2016)

 

Now here’s something I’ve been looking forward to pretty much since it was announced.

I love the original Ghostbusters. I think it was absolutely hilarious, but I was always vaguely disappointed that none of the original Ghostbusters were women. It seems like this reboot of the original 1984 movie is certainly correcting that oversight. In this reboot, directed by Paul Feig, all four of them are women (played by Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Kate McKinnon, and Leslie Jones). It’s set to release into theaters on July 25.

The trailer is incredibly funny. I was watching it in a library (so I couldn’t laugh at it too hard), but when I watched it again when I got home and if anything, it was funnier to me then. It looks like there’s going to be quite a bit taken from the original movie, but with a lot of new stuff as well (so more of a reimagining than a remake). My favorite part of the trailer is the end, with exorcism via face slapping.

There are, of course some people who take umbrage with this film’s existence. Some people don’t really like the ideas of remakes or reboots, and I can accept that. There are some people, however, that either run around crying that the movie is “raping their childhoods” (gross) or just don’t like the fact that the main characters are women. Some people (sexist douchebags, basically) are trying to organize a boycott (which worked so well with Mad Max: Fury Road and Star Wars: The Force Awakens).

To which I say: why do these people care so much? It’s not like it’s going to go back in time and erase the existence of the old movie. They  can still go and watch it whenever they want.

As for me? You can bet your sweet ass I’ll be watching this movie.

Leave a Reply

