Reviews, Trailers

The Trailer Park: Hidden Figures

It’s been a while since I last wrote about a trailer. Mostly this was because I hadn’t seen any film trailers that sparked my interest. Until I watched the trailer for Hidden Figures.

Hidden Figures, directed by Theodore Melfi and written by Melfi and Allison Schroeder, tells the story of three women: Katherine Johnson (Taraji P Henson), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer), and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe), and is based on the non-fiction work by Margo Lee Shetterly. These three women were mathematicians who worked for NASA and were crucial to a number of projects. It looks like this one focuses on John Glenn’s orbit around the earth in 1962.

The movie looks like most of the focus is going to be on Johnson, but Vaughan and Jackson appear to be getting a good amount of screentime as well. I will admit, though, that I had no idea who these women were until I watched this trailer, but I did look them up on Wikipedia and they’re actually pretty interesting. Obviously, being women of color in a field dominated by white men, they experience that lovely intersection of racism and sexism, and the film doesn’t look like it’s going to gloss over that.

It also helps that it looks funnier than hell. I think my favorite part of the trailer is when the three meet John Glenn (Glen Powell), and Jackson checks him out as he walks away. Johnson asks her, “How can you be ogling those white men?” and Jackson replies, “It’s equal rights. I have the right to see fine in every color.”

Also, while I am admittedly unfamiliar with Taraji P Henson and Octavia Spencer’s work, I am excited to see Janelle Monáe here. I love her work as a singer, and she just seems to be a really awesome person all around.

The current release date for Hidden Figures is January 13, 2017. I will probably be seeing it, and I’m most likely going to be looking up the book in the near future as well.

Leave a Reply

