Horror Title Allison Road Comes Back To Life

aliisonroad

My first thought upon hearing the title Allison Road was “Isn’t that a song by the Gin Blossoms?” And yes. Yes it is. But that’s not what we’re here to talk about today.

Rather, what we’re talking about is the spiritual successor to P.T., the “playable teaser” for a then-upcoming Silent Hill game directed by Hideo Kojima and Guillermo Del Toro that was unceremoniously cancelled because Konami doesn’t know a good thing when they see it (and yes, I’m still bitter about this). Despite having a successful Kickstarter campaign,  the game was cancelled in June.

Well, apparently the UK developer who was working on the game, Lillith, LTD, has decided to revive the project.

It sounds like the project was cancelled due to a falling out with then publisher Team 17. However, it looks like Lillith Ltd has located a new publisher for the title in Far From Home. This, according to creator Christian Kesler, also gave the team some time to go over and make some changes to the story and generally tweak it a bit (from the linked PC Gamer article):

“It did take a bit of soul searching to find the drive again to work on Allison Road and to simply make a call on what to do next,” Kesler said. “After the setback, I took a bit of a break from working on it and re-evaluated all the work that had been done so far—the whole journey, so to speak. I started making a few (in my opinion) necessary changes to the story and the flow, little bits and pieces here and there, and before I knew it, it sort of naturally came back to life.”

I, admittedly, hadn’t really paid all that much attention to the project when it was originally announced last year (for which I am now kicking myself). See, I love horror, and I love video games, so it would stand to reason that I love horror video games. Watching the prototype, I definitely see some shades of P.T., but more in-depth, with voice acting and more interaction with objects.

I am getting pretty excited about this. There has been a dearth of good horror games recently, and from what I have seen of this project, it looks like Lillith Ltd has what it takes to pull this off.

Leave a Reply

