The Trailer Park: Rings

So, when I first heard about this, I thought that they were just doing a straight remake of The Ring. I did a little research before viewing the trailer, and everything I saw said that this was meant to be a direct sequel.

Then I watched the trailer. And it looks like they’re remaking The Ring.

OK, maybe that’s not fair. There does seem to be a bit that’s different, and there’s the fact that it has an R-rating while the original film (which itself is a remake of a Japanese movie) was PG-13. There are a couple of scenes, though (particularly the one where the girl coughs up the clump of hair) that seem to be lifted from the 2002 film.

Rings (directed by F Javier Gutierrez) follows Julia (Matilda Lutz), who has to save her boyfriend Holt (Alex Roe) from the video’s curse. Along the way, they make a rather disturbing discovery about said video.

Now, I liked The Ring. I thought that it was quite effective for a PG-13 horror movie (not that all horror movies need to be rated R). I thought its 2005 sequel was kind of stupid, but I liked the first one. And it looks like they’ve updated the technology in the film as well, going from the video cassette of the first one to an Internet video. Judging from the scene on the plane, it also looks like the stakes are quite a bit higher. 

I still think that it looks somewhat derivative from the first one, but I might still check it out.

Rings hits theaters on February 3.

Leave a Reply

